advanced dubwise electronic music

com01-03 vinyl releases:



Comfortnoise Ploy - Three Stands - Comfortnoise 01

Comfortnoise Ploy offers three heavily dubbed out tunes complemented by an ingenious, kind of shoegazing remix by Gaspard de La Montagne. Similar to what Comfortnoise Ploy play in their comprehensive live performances, these tracks are loose, lost-in-thought sonic patterns that do not quite obey any style or genre. They rather freely lean against Donald W. Winnicott’s conceptualization of three strands of communication available to an individual: The first is explicit, indirect and pleasurable, the second is intermediate by sliding out of the child’s playing into cultural experience of every kind, and finally and most surprisingly a third line of communication which is – forever silent.

w & p by Marius Neukom & Rjega
sax on A1 & B2 by Michiel Renger
additional production on B2 by Gaspard de La Montagne
mastered by Adi Flück at Centraldubs
Artwork: Stillhart Konzept
distributed by rewindforward, bristol (uk) 

p & c 2020 com01


NEW.COM - The Unity Is Submarine - Comfortnoise 02

Ever since it was founded in 2003, Comfortnoise has featured events, podcasts, and texts rotating around mighty basslines in Techno and Dub. Now, NEW.COM («new-dot-com»), head of Comfortnoise, emerges with four of his own productions exploring the depths of dancefloor, even soundsystem-oriented music: «Mountainous Conquest» piles up a ground-shaking bassline interspersed with breezy percussion and a fragmented melodica theme. «Mental Canoe» lays out an utmost stripped-down, metallically droning Reggae tune, while «Green Plunder» presents a nasty, shattering, technoid roller. Finally, percussion-oriented «Ravings Of Rock» playfully swings between stops and goes, seabed and rain clouds. The EP casually follows a powerfully eloquent poem by Carribean poet Edward Kamau Brathwaite (r.i.p.) and closes with this pretty evident line: «The Unity Is Submarine».

>>> see the review on juno daily on march 18, 2021.

w & p by Marius Neukom (except A1 by Marius Neukom & Rjega)
titles & lyrics inspired by Edward K. Brathwaite, Sun Poem, 1982
mastered by Adi Flück at Centraldubs
Artwork: Stillhart Konzept
distributed by rewindforward, bristol (uk) 

p & c 2020 com02


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment